Putting a Plan in Motion

I have started working with a Case Manager through the county’s mental health services unit. Today we came up with a plan to help me accomplish my goal of getting out of my apartment with no purpose attached. I mean, I’m now able to leave if I have a specific errand to run (go to the bank, the library, pharmacy, grocery store, etc.) but I still struggle with simply going out for a walk. And I want to be able to get out for non-specific reasons.

So for the next 2 weeks my plan is this: on Sundays, my goal is to go for a walk. And if I feel that I need a “purpose” of sorts, then I am to either plan out and walk a potential running route (since I do want to return to running in the near future), pick a store I haven’t been to here in town and go window shopping, or if I absolutely MUST attach an actual errand to it, then I am to find a longer way to get to where I need to go.

I started today. After my appointment, I needed to go pick up a few things, but instead of walking straight to the store, I wandered around a bit first. I walked through the residential area the mental health offices are in, then made my way to a street that would eventually lead me back downtown. I ended up walking almost 3km out of my way just to go to Giant Tiger.

I will confess to feeling a bit anxious at first. Part of my brain was screaming at me to go get my things and go home. Where I could hide and nobody could see me. But the truth is, I don’t WANT to be hiding. I don’t WANT to be invisible. I WANT to be ME again. And I’m slowly getting there.

This entry was posted in illnesses, Mental Health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Putting a Plan in Motion

  1. Wonderful. Wanting to do things and not hide at home is a very good sign. “Do just one thing each day that you really like to do. That you get a feeling of satisfaction after you done it. Even cleaning or arranging a cupboard or cooking or something that you really like to do” This gets the mind on to the wheel of positivity and gets it turning. All the very best to you. Many Blessings of love, Light and Healing Energies to you 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Eartha says:

    Hi Kathleen, I don’t know your full story but you getting out there is inspiring. Thanks for sharing. 💚

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Good for you! 👍

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

