Recipe: Refreshing Gin Cocktail

Last summer, during a camping trip, my friend Allison reintroduced me to gin. I can remember drinking gin and tonics with my parents and really enjoying them. But I got away from gin and kind of forgot about it.

Well, not anymore. This summer I came across a mixed cocktail at the LCBO: Dixon’s Gin Fusion. After buying a few cans of this, I got it into my head that I would like to try making my own. So I picked up a bottle of gin (I’m currently using Tanqueray Rangpur but you can use your favourite gin) and got experimenting.

Gin Cocktail with Cucumber, Lime, Ginger, and Mint

Ingredients for 2 drinks (measurements are approximate. You want all flavours balanced)

  • 3 oz gin
  • 2 oz ginger simple syrup (see note below)
  • fresh lime juice (1/2 – 1 lime)
  • 5-6 fresh mint leaves
  • 1/3 cup sliced cucumber (I left the peel on mine, but you can peel it if you want)
  • tonic or soda water to top off
  • Mint leaves and cucumber slices for garnish (optional)

Directions:

Note: I used an immersion blender to make this. But you could muddle your ingredients in a cocktail shaker, or use a blender. Up to you.

  1. In the cup of your immersion blender, combine all ingredients except the tonic or soda water. Blitz until pureed.
  2. In 2 glasses with ice, divide the pureed mixture. Top with soda or tonic water, and garnish with fresh mint and/or cucumber.
  3. ENJOY!

Note: To make my ginger simple syrup, I used the lazy method. I combined 1 cup of sugar, 1 cup of hot tap water, and grated in a couple tbsps of ginger. I stirred until the sugar dissolved, pour the syrup into a bottle and put it into the fridge.

IMG_20170701_153546_029

Gin Cocktail with Cucumber, Mint, Ginger, and Lime. Yummy!

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Recipe: Refreshing Gin Cocktail

  1. This looks so refreshing! I love gin but never really get creative with it, definitely trying!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Eartha says:

    Cheers, Kathleen! 🍹

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

