Doing the Scary Things

This past week I did several things that scared me. Things that pushed me out of my comfort zone. Things that made me face my anxiety head on.

  1. Last Sunday, I went into the town’s health food store. They had a “Help Wanted” sign in the window. I asked what they were looking for. Now, in the spirit of full disclosure, I didn’t end up submitting my resume. Simply because they were looking for someone with knowledge of and experience with herbal supplements and minerals and such. I don’t have that knowledge at all. But I went in and asked. Which is huge progress, I think.
  2. I finally made it to the Recovery Outreach program. In fact, I went both days this past week. On Wednesday, I went for a walk, weeded the garden beds and watered flowers, had lunch, and then started my first Therapeutic Journal (once I have a few more pages done, I will blog about this). On Thursday, I went on a larger group outing to the beach at Fitzroy Provincial Park. I’m not going to lie, I was terrified and anxious both days. But I went. And I’m glad I did. I’m really looking forward to this week.
  3. And here’s the scariest one of all. I can’t be the only person who finds it hard to make friends as I get older. Putting myself out there is so hard. But I did. And I’m hopeful. There is a lovely woman who works at my favourite clothing store here. Anytime I go in, we always have a lovely chat. So, I was in one day this past week, and I went for it. I asked if she would be interested in getting together for a drink or a coffee or something. We exchanged numbers. Of course, I now feel like a kid in middle school. Should I message her? Should I wait for her to message me? Should I just go into the store again? However, as I write this, I have decided to text her tomorrow, ask how her weekend is going, and see if she’s free at all this week.

What have you done lately that conquers your fears? I’d love to hear them.

This entry was posted in illnesses, Mental Health and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Doing the Scary Things

  1. mrsgmh says:

    Just seen on Facebook that you’re going for coffee next Wednesday morning with the clothing store lady – well done you! That’s fantastic!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mrsgmh says:

    I’ve been going on walks with a walking group over the last few weeks. A neighbour, who I didn’t know very well, invited me. So I’ve been meeting lots of new people. I still feel very shy inside although I think I cover it up well, chatting away as we walk. Tomorrow, I will be going to meet them on my own as my neighbour can’t come. I think it’s normal to feel nervous about making new friends. Or maybe it’s just us – lol! We just have to keep pushing ourselves out of our comfort zone. I love the walks and the others have been very welcoming and nice to me so I don’t know why I still feel shy. Have a lovely week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That sounds lovely. It’s so hard meeting new people isn’t it? How did your walk go without your neighbour?

      Liked by 1 person

      • mrsgmh says:

        It was fine, Kathleen, and it actually gave me more confidence by going on my own! I go twice a week on Mondays and Thursdays. The walks are varied and each one is 3 miles long and takes an hour. We go for coffee together after the one on Monday. That’s the busiest day. There were 12 of us this week. Enjoy your Recovery Outreach program today!

        Like

Leave a Reply

