Small Town Living

After almost 2 years, I think small town living is growing on me. People recognize me when I go out, go into stores, or the library. The staff at my pharmacy knows my name. The library staff recognize me and know if I have books on hold. When I’m out walking, people wave at me.

And funny stuff happens when you live in a small town. An innocent conversation about my hobbies can lead to connections. My friend from Ottawa, Darlene, came to hang out today. In her words, she felt like “playing”, so we went for lunch, we DID NOT have ice cream for dessert (the ice cream was DELICIOUS), and we poked around in a few stores. While we were in Dollarama, I said I could make a dish towel ditty bag for her (anyone familiar with Brownies and Girl Guides knows what a ditty bag is). As we were talking, a woman in the aisle said it must be nice to know someone who sews. She went on to say that she always has to get her pants hemmed. After further conversation, I gave her my number, and she told me anytime I wanted to spend time by the water, I was welcome to come to her place. So I told her I would gladly trade hemming services for time at the water. We’ll see what happens.

In other news, I have an appointment with my Ontario Works caseworker this week, and I’ve decided I’m going to start looking for work after Labour Day. I’ll start with something part-time and go from there. I feel ready.

IMG_20170802_100218

Robert Simpson Park, Arnprior

This entry was posted in day-to-day life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Small Town Living

  1. Heeeey ❤
    I have nominated you for The Blogger Recognition Award.
    I believe you have amazing content + you deserve it 🙂
    Please see my link here: https://discoveringyourhappiness.com/2017/08/24/the-blogger-recognition-award/
    Love from Anita ❤

    Like

  2. Miriam says:

    So glad to hear you are feeling ready and more confident Kathleen. Wishing you well 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

