Recipe: Oatmeal “Bread”

A friend of mine recently shared an interesting sounding recipe with me. And I thought I’d share it with all of you.

I’m not posting the recipe on my page. Please click on the link to go check it out. The original recipe is called 1 Minute Oatmeal Bread and it is done in the microwave. However, I don’t have a microwave, and I don’t have any food intolerances. So I used  regular, full of gluten, all-purpose flour. I also used a whole egg (lately I find my eggs don’t crack nicely. Ok, the truth is I was too lazy to separate the egg). I used brown sugar instead of maple syrup (I wanted to save my maple syrup for putting on top). Oh, and I used coconut extract instead  of vanilla (vanilla extract is on my grocery list for this week). And I didn’t measure anything. I eyeballed all the ingredients into a bowl, stirred it together, patted it into a greased baking dish, and popped it into a 350F toaster oven for 10 minutes.

What came out of my oven was a delicious breakfast cookie. Or an oatmeal pancake. Whatever you want to call it, it sure was tasty! I topped mine with blueberries, walnuts, and a little drizzle of maple syrup.

20170324_105704

Blueberry and Walnut-topped Oatmeal “Bread” – this will definitely be part of my breakfast rotation. It was delicious!

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Recipe: Oatmeal “Bread”

  1. Miriam says:

    Yum, looks so delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh wow, that looks yummy! Topping it with blueberries and walnuts is brilliant – both my favs!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment